Collected Folk Tales

By Alan Garner

From the author of the Booker Prize-shortlisted Treacle Walker and the Carnegie Medal and Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize-winning classic, The Owl Service

The definitive collection of traditional British folk tales, selected and retold by the renowned Alan Garner.

Following on from the fiftieth anniversary of Alan Garner’s seminal fantasy classic, THE WEIRDSTONE OF BRISINGAMEN, here are collected all of Alan’s folk tales, told with his unique storytelling skill and inimitably clear voice. Essential reading for young and old alike.

Among the stories collected here are:
• Kate Crackernuts
• Gold-Tree and Silver-Tree
• Yallery Brown

Format: ebook
Ageband: from 9
Release Date: 27 Oct 2011
Pages: None
ISBN: 978-0-00-744610-0
Alan Garner’s first book, The Weirdstone of Brisingamen, is cited as a major influence by many of today’s greatest fantasy writers. Among his other acclaimed books are Elidor and The Owl Service, which won the Guardian Award and the Carnegie Medal. Alan was born and still lives in Cheshire, and its local mythology plays a significant part in his work.

”Praise for The Moon of Gomrath: 'Not only powerful but full of wild and whirling adventure… the reader is drawn right into the midst of it all.” - Guardian

”Praise for The Weirdstone of Brisingamen: 'Marvellously exciting… Alan Garner is at his best writing of night and dark water… the story is ferocious and deeply felt.” - New Statesman

”Praise for The Owl Service: 'Not meant only for children… The power grows, throbs nearer, builds to unbearable tension, and comes to wild release in the last few pages.” - The Guardian

”Praise for Red Shift: 'A magnificently multilayered novel… and a superbly exciting piece of literature.” - The Times