Michael Morpurgo’s Tales from Shakespeare - The Complete Collection of 10 Retellings (Michael Morpurgo’s Tales from Shakespeare): Unabridged edition

By Michael Morpurgo, Original author William Shakespeare, Read by Michael Morpurgo, Georgia Landers, Assad Zaman, Miles Jupp, Anne Odeke, Avita Jay, Dyfrig Morris, Alice Blundell, Patrick Osborne, Ben Caplan, Baker Mukasa, Zoe Lambert, Colm Gormley and Kemi-Bo Jacobs et al.

Sir Michael Morpurgo retells ten of Shakespeare’s best-loved plays in this stunning audio collection in association with the RSC, featuring readings by members of the Royal Shakespeare Company and Michael himself.

This collection includes Romeo and Juliet, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Macbeth, Hamlet, King Lear, Henry V, Twelfth Night, Taming of the Shrew, The Winter’s Tale and The Tempest.

Translating these iconic plays into thrilling prose, the nation’s favourite storyteller preserves all the imaginative genius and spark of the originals, while bringing a contemporary and vibrant voice to their retelling. The stories are revealed in a fresh, exciting and entertaining way, providing both an entry point for child readers and a fascinating dialogue with the original texts that will intrigue any Shakespeare scholar.

Each tale, directed by Hal Chambers and Aaron Parsons, is introduced by Michael and includes incidental music composed by Phil James.

Format: Audio-Book
Ageband: 8 to 12
Release Date: 14 Oct 2021
Pages: None
ISBN: 978-0-00-850865-4
Detailed Edition: Unabridged edition
Michael Morpurgo OBE is one of Britain\'s best loved writers for children, with sales of over 35 million copies. He has written over 150 books, has served as Children’s Laureate, and has won many prizes, including the Smarties Prize, the Writers Guild Award, the Whitbread Award, the Blue Peter Book Award and the Eleanor Farjeon Lifetime Achievement Award. With his wife, Clare, he is the co-founder of Farms for City Children. Michael was knighted in 2018 for services to literature and charity.